Finally (almost) finished Friday………….

Just the binding left on the “Cardinal Quilt”. The final border was finished this morning. After the feather flourishes in the previous borders, I wanted something a bit less fussy but still keeping with the “nature”/”organic” feel of the quilt. Sorta has a leaf appearance, don’tcha think?????007

008

I chose to do a simple double arc using the Handi Quilter “Versa Tool”.011Normally I would use this as a long-armer would in the stitching but, this time, I marked the arcs, using this aid,  with a white chalk pencil (fine line, Fons & Porter) and merely followed the lines…..it went a lot quicker that way. I had already stitched the outer perimeter of the quilt “sandwich” to secure the edges against puckers and slipping. I used the Superior Variegated Gold metallic thread, although because of the white lines, it doesn’t really show very well.

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finally (almost) finished Friday………….

  1. Pingback: First Finish for ’15! | Deep in the Heart of Textiles

  2. witchylin says:

    The arcs do compliment the feathers. I might start to think of other uses for some of my rulers when it comes to quilting and having lines to help.
    You have your priorities right Doreen. You quilt, Tom shovels. 😉 We are heading for the white stuff here too quite soon. 😦

    • treadlemusic says:

      I think it would be alright to have the ‘white stuff’ if I could still have the 75F with it!!!!! LOL!
      Because I don’t have a frame mounted machine, it is sometimes difficult to move the fabric AND hold a ruler in place to stitch (especially in an outer border….a lot of ‘heavy’ on one side and very little to hold on to on the other…). When following a marked line, remember to NOT look at the needle but rather the line ahead/beyond it…..the finished stitching will be a smooth line and not jagged/wobbly. A bit of practice first will help. Let me know if this helps……

  3. Gloria says:

    It’s looking good, Doreen. Great way to spend another cold winter day, but of course you don’t need an excuse, do you?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.