I present: “Coneflower”……………

A couple of close-ups………006

007

And the “big picture”………………………004

The colors are fairly true…….the yellow/upper background may be lighter, more ‘wheat’ colored, though.

The top is all Dupioni Silk.                                       Batting: Hobbs Wool over Silk. (The dimension/texture is amazing!                                                                       Thread: Isacord poly, 40 wt, “Barewood”(disc. color), Aurifil cotton, 40 wt, (color #2885), [bobbin] Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly, 70 wt, “Evergreen” Dimensions: 14”x 23” (approx)

Here’s a couple of photos of the back and how I add a piece of 3/4”x 1/4” (cut about an inch shorter than the hanging width),  oak to stabilize the top for hanging. A “saw-tooth” picture hanger may be added to this to finish the application. The corners are a 3” piece of backing, folded on the diagonal and applied before the binding is stitched the first time. 008

009  This method works well on larger pieces, also, if a couple of extra sleeves are added for additional support. I gives a nice clean finish and easy hanging for anyone who doesn’t have an actual “quilt hanging” set-up.                  

I’ll be sad to see this go out but happy that it will be used for a good cause. Genesis Christian Academy is hosting an event/fund raiser on February 27th called “Night of Knights”. If anyone is in the Kansas City area and want to participate in an awesome evening, please, mark your calendars!!!!! The above piece will be among many other items that will raise needed moneys for tuition and other needs.

Have a great week, everyone! I’m not sure that I will be posting much in the coming days……..many things to give my attention to. But….there will be photos a’comin’, of that you can be sure!!!! Til then, thanks so much for all your delightful and treasured visits and comments!……..

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to I present: “Coneflower”……………

  1. Wonderful piece. I believe your quilting has grown by leaps and bounds in the short time I’ve been following you. Your attention to detail and your composition of design are breathtaking.

    Have a great break from us. I hope there is time for you to just enjoy the swirl around you.

    • treadlemusic says:

      A variety of clients’ quilts will pass under Ms Sweetie and will (in photos) find their way to the blog, I’m sure!!!! LOL! I thank you so much for those incredibly sweet words! I’ve been able to do more projects that have challenged my fmq skills (it began last Spring with my silk “Challenge” quilt for a May event in a nearby town). Generally, I’ve been able to spend approx. 7 hours a day at the machine and there has been major steps forward for me (this is the retirement dream I had for years while working!!!!!). Hugs………………………………

  2. witchylin says:

    Fantastic now it is completed. I can understand why you would be sorry to see it finished. Your quilting is amazing. It makes other quilters realize that practice does make perfect. Since following you I have had lots of ideas for FMQ. Thank you Doreen. See your pictures soon. Enjoy the rest from the blog for a few days. 😉

  3. sharechair says:

    Just gorgeous. I think you are amazing.

    • treadlemusic says:

      (Blushing) Really I’m far from that but I have been able to…practice, practice, practice and results have really been seen…and I’m pleased, too. I appreciate your visits and leaving a word or two!!!! Sweet hugs to you……………………..

  4. Jackie says:

    This is just beautiful Doreen, It’s just crazy to me what you can do with fabric! I like the “sleeve” idea in the back…clever!

  5. Absolutely stunning. What you can do with a single flower…

    • treadlemusic says:

      And in that was the challenge! How to create interest and keep the viewer engaged with such a simple focus item……… It, truly, was a fun & challenging project!!!! Hugs…………

  6. Jeanne says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! What a great piece for the fundraiser! I’d have a hard time letting it go too. I haven’t tried quilting on Dupioni Silk. Maybe someday…

    • treadlemusic says:

      That fabric is really quite stable. The only irritant is all the threads that fray from the cut edges (I even stitched the edges to control this somewhat!). The fabric colors are beyond gorgeous!!!!!!

  7. catpatches says:

    Beautiful piece. I hang my quilts that way too. Usually I put an extra sleeve in the middle to keep them from sagging, but it depends on the size of the quilt. For small quilts, I run a bamboo skewer inside the top binding, and that works well too.

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is a GREAT tip!!!!!! I’ll definitely make sure to pass it along!!!!!!!! Generally, I have bypassed doing a wall quilt so making rod pockets of any kind have been avoided (thankfully). I know they’re not a big deal but (to me) they are one step too many before a piece is a completion.

  8. CJ says:

    Oh WOW Doreen, you’ve outdone yourself on this one, absolutely stunning!

    • treadlemusic says:

      These “whole cloth” styled stitchings are my absolute fave!!! I think piecing (for me) is ok….once in a while…..but the quilting is what I truly love!!!! Plus…..my Sweet 16 seems to be a machine that stitches beautifully on any fabric, with any batting combo and with any thread which makes stitching pure bliss!!!!!!

  9. I believe it will be a big hit!!!

  10. labugaiski says:

    Wow! It’s amazing, love it! Hope to get that good one day! I have been practicing, practicing, and I getting to the point that I think I am to hard on myself. Things that look not great to me others say it beautiful, am getting to the point that they don’t have to be perfect, and not be so hard on myself. Thanks amazing quilting!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your thoughts, regarding your progress/stitching, are ones that are not foreign to my thinking….even now. Being too close and intensely involved with a project will tend to cloud your vision. I have to tell myself (quite often) to just continue and the finish will redeem itself and be a pleasing one (“Coneflower” is such a project…yes, until I did the bottom half/green silk, I was very unhappy with the direction the piece was taking!). I have never completed a “perfect” finish but that is the ‘charm’ of such “hand guided, fmq”…otherwise, just get a longarm quilter with a computer guided machine that can complete the stitching perfectly (I am not into “perfect” quilting stitches but those stitched with “love”!!!!).
      Keep on keeping on……it takes time (in this “instant age” we live in) and sometimes we forget that element. Hugs……….

  11. LB says:

    WOW! This may be one of my most favorite of all of your pieces. I wish I could be at that fundraiser! I’d surely buy it

    • treadlemusic says:

      That is very nice of you to say!! I am really unfamiliar with the event (and it’s a long way from me, also!!!) so I do hope that there will be significant $$$ raised. Last year’s amount raised was decent and they had 2 quilts. A queen size that sold for $600 and another with the school logo (maybe a large lap size quilt) and that one went for only $100, which didn’t even cover materials. Taking that into account, I decided to make something that didn’t have a high materials cost and would be an item that might appeal to those who like pictorial art along with unique textile pieces. We’ll see. I will try to get the $$ amount is sells for. I’m so very glad you like this piece!!!! Uber hugs………………….

  12. Rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here:
    Hello Doreen, This is beautiful. I agree, it is hard to send off things we feel turned out so well.
    I Imagine some one will snap this one up, and you are right, this is a good cause.
    You have made a great accomplishment, and of course growth comes along with that.
    You took great photos, so now you can say been there, done that.
    Happy Tuesday

  13. KerryCan says:

    Doreen, this is so perfect! I love the depth and lushness of the silk and how it shows off the quilting. I sort of can’t believe you’re not keeping it but what a wonderful, charitable contribution! I bet it brings in the big $$$$$$$$!!

  14. Fiona says:

    just stunning…
    Hugz

  15. Michele says:

    Oh wow! It really turned out fabulous.

  16. KrisR says:

    WOWsers! LOVE (standing on one foot LOVE!) the quilting. Amaze-balls.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so funny!!! Seriously though, I so appreciate your comment and very much take to heart! I so enjoy doing this part of the process and am thrilled if others enjoy the viewing!!!! Many thanks and many hugs……I do miss you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

