Texture Tuesday…………………

Progress! The “Cardinal Quilt” has gone from this………. 002

To this………………………..002

001

003

004

For those of you who may not have been visiting for very long, I do hand-guided FMQ (Free Motion Quilting) on my Handi Quilter “Sweet Sixteen” (affectionately known as “Ms Sweetie”) which was purchased 2 years ago. Having no room for a full sized long-arm quilting frame, this sit-down mid-arm is 16” of wonderful space for unlimited quilting space! This fun will be put ‘on hold’ for a bit. Other quiltings are taking priority at the moment. Stay tuned…………………………

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Texture Tuesday…………………

  1. witchylin says:

    Doreen, At last I have been able to get back on to your blog. I have missed it. For some reason WordPress didn’t like me changing my email address. However we seem to be up and running again.
    Beautiful quilts in your show and tell as always. Plus the aprons.
    Belated wishes to the Birthday boy, who knows the meaning of a message about a foot. 😉

    It is good to be back.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’ve been super concerned about your absence!!! Glad to see your comments once again!!! Have passed along your best wishes + comment……brought a bit of a laugh!!!! Once again, computers, and programs, are wonderful when working the way WE think they should but woe is us when they don’t!!!!! Hugs………………………….

  2. Michele says:

    It is looking fabulous so far.

  3. Thread crazy says:

    Now that’s beautiful with all the feathers. Your design just flows together and is awesome. Mine are coming along but nowhere like yours.

    • treadlemusic says:

      It’s been interesting, this “feather thing”. I tried so many different techniques/approaches before this one “clicked” (Wendy Sheppard…Ivory Spring blog) and since then my brain has cemented the programming!!! Drawing in a sketchbook and tons of muslin sandwiches (which are now placemats in our RV with serged edges!!!!) helped it ‘stick’!!!! It does come, though and it will for you, also!!! Frosty hugs comin’ your way………………..

  4. ruthiequilts says:

    Gorgeous quilting Doreen!

  5. Lynda says:

    You really made this one POP! Wonderful work, Doreen!

  6. That is fabulous! I love texture in quilts. I must always touch them!! Oh, and I love cardinals, too. I wish we got them here in the SW corner of the state but we don’t.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Really?? I did not know that!!! I will not take them so much for granted from now on!!! The richness of their color against the green pines and white snow totally “grabs me”!!!!!!! I’m so happy you popped in and took time to leave a comment!!!! Many thanks and hugs…………….

    • treadlemusic says:

      The initial plan in my mind is not what’s coming out on the fabric……very interesting…..ha! I do like it am not sure what will be the next step…..hmmmmm. Usually I’m not this “in the dark”!!!!!!! LOL! Thanks so much for your kind words and I do hope that this early winter has found you all cozied up!!!! Hugs…………………….

  7. rosemarazzle says:

    Rosemary B here
    This is a beautiful quilt.
    I love your quilting and I WANT that Sweet 16
    Well, I am taking a certification class at a local (35 minutes away) quilt shop in January
    I will then have the opportunity to use their long arm, and also their Sweet 16.
    Doreen, I enjoy everything you share! thanks for that and all of your inspiration

    • treadlemusic says:

      I am so excited for you!!!!!!! I love manipulating the fabric to form all these motifs!!! It’s the “way my brain works”. I would probably not buy a frame long-arm even if I had the space. Most of my long-arm friends say the opposite…..they don’t want to ‘wrestle” with all that fabric and find it much to their liking to move the machine. This is what “makes the world go ’round”!!!! I’ll be anxious to hear how it goes for you and your thoughts!!!!!

      • rosemarazzle says:

        I have had, so far, mixed feelings about the long arm. Once, I went to the local quilt show bonanza here in No Va, and tired many long arm brands. I was incredibly good, and it was okay. the Sweet 16 is more my pace too. I like to sit and focus. I love that machine.
        So, I am pretty much taking the long arm class to learn that, then get “certified” so I can use their Sweet 16. fine with me.
        I like “wrestling” I feel like I have more control, and tend to focus better
        I will let you know how it goes

  8. catpatches says:

    It’s beautiful. I just got the Baby Lock Tiara II…they are the same machine. i am loving it.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I was wondering what machine you were using. I kinda figured it was either a SS or Tiara. Awesome machines and perfect for small spaces. With my quilting preferences, though, I really prefer to move the fabric rather than the machine so I doubt I would change to a frame/rigid mount machine even if I had the room!!!!!

  9. Peggy says:

    i also have a sweet sixteen but I have to say I’m not nearly as fond of mine as you are of yours. I have a TERRIBLE time with tension issues, if I’m using two different colors, one is always showing up through the other. do you have any suggestions? I’d be sooooo grateful for ANY tips, maybe you could do a blog on your sweetie?

    • treadlemusic says:

      Peggy…….I’m so sorry to “hear” about the tension issues. For the most part, the balance is excellent. I do put the same/similar color thread on the bobbin if there is a dramatic difference (“wine” color on top….then similar on the bobbin). I will do a post soon to further share my experiences. Have an awesome day and thanks so much for stopping by!!!!! Hugs, Doreen

  10. mtetar says:

    Now that’s a Signature Quilt. You did it well as usual. Blessings Always, Mtetar

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.