The big “Challenge” reveal…………….

For sometime now I’ve alluded to a project that’s been “under wraps” due to a future judging of the item. Yes, that day has finally arrived! The judging is taking place at this moment and all submissions will be available for viewing from 5:00 to 7:00 pm this evening and 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. tomorrow at the library in Spring Grove (MN). The quilt show is part of the town’s annual “Syttende Mai” celebration.

The rules for this challenge were to use the 3 initials of our name (1st letter of our first, middle and last name) and…1) One initial should represent the main/dominant color; 2) One initial should represent the pattern or block and 3) One initial should represent the quilting motif.  Any initial can be any item. Any size project was permitted.

I’ve been wanting to do a dupioni silk project and this was the perfect opportunity. First, a prototype from some dupioni  from a bridal party I sewed up when I had my sewing business………………..CHALLENGE '14 001

CHALLENGE '14 002

CHALLENGE '14 003

That turned out quite well….so on to the real thing!!!!!! One yard of dupioni, some scraps of dupioni in various colors, bits of lace/doilies and hot-fix Swarovski crystals. Onward. I sandwiched the backing, Hobbs 80/20 (cotton-poly) batting, a layer of Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting and the dupioni and started the fun!!!!!CHALLENGE '14 010

Final photos of “Drifting”………………………………………….CHALLENGE '14 004

CHALLENGE '14 005

CHALLENGE '14 006

CHALLENGE '14 008

CHALLENGE '14 011

CHALLENGE '14 012

I used 100wt Invisafil thread on the top and it was perfect!!!! The bobbin thread was my favorite Connecting Threads Essential Pro poly (70wt).  Needle size #14. The large doilies had been in my dear friend’s stash (Alice, my quilting buddy who passed away a year ago and who I posted about here). The smaller lace pieces are from an old lace table runner I had purchased at the Salvation Army and had “fussy cut” into the needed “snowflakes”. The final size of the piece is 44”x 36”.

The silk fabric was a dream to sew on and I have, since, purchased other pieces for future ideas. But, for now, they will have to wait…….the outdoors beckons……………….

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The big “Challenge” reveal…………….

  1. Michele says:

    Really fabulous. I’m constantly amazed by your work.

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much. This one was a ‘challenge’ for me……forced me to really ‘think’!!!! (And you know how hard that is sometimes!!!!! LOL!) Hugs……………..

  2. Rhonda says:

    Just gorgeous Doreen! I love your quilting, the silk, and the way you’ve honoured your friend with the doilies as stars. It’s a winner, even if you didn’t win a prize — you won by extending yourself and trying new things. That’s always a ‘win’.

    • treadlemusic says:

      You have beautifully expressed my heart feeling on this one, Rhonda! I couldn’t be more “at peace” with this finish. I am so enjoying the direction I’m taking. I thank you for the timely comment (always) and must say how you remain a huge inspiration to me!!!!!!! Uber hugs………………………

  3. Karen Miller says:

    Doreen your piece is just beautiful! I love the colors, the quilting and the pretty little accents. How very special. Thanks for the details about fabric and thread — it is always good to know how along with what. Take care, Karen

    • treadlemusic says:

      You are so very welcome!!! I have learned an incredible amount of hints, facts, techniques, ‘foibles’ about quilting from the bloggers I follow. Along with creating beautiful textile art, we are ALL educators……to each other and, sometimes more importantly, to all the non-quilting public “out there”!!! I always hope that my miscellaneous ramblings and jottings will fulfill that goal. Hugs and blessings to you, dear bloggy friend…………………

  4. Thread crazy says:

    I love the design in your quilt…it’s beautiful. To me the quilting stands out from the doilies and lets your eye wander and follow the curve of the design. Great Job – it’s a winner in my book.

  5. Wow! I missed this post (was online minimally last week.) This is fabulous! I like the mix of raw-edge applique with the little doilies, and the spareness of all the applique mixed with the richness of quilting. I think it’s a winner!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Thank you so much!!!!!!!! I so appreciate/value your input. I think this finish typifies the ‘new’ direction I’m going as I experiment with “art quilts” and some of the more “mod” trends that are out there. So glad you enjoyed this post!!!! Hugs……………………..

  6. Your quilting is phenomenal, and I appreciate how you always include the details of what threads and needle you used! I have not heard of McTavishing though – can you fill me in? Thanks!

    • treadlemusic says:

      You betcha! (Sorry, it’s kinda “Fargo” of me……also indigenous of this Norwegian area!!!!) The best way to tell you about Karen McTavish (from Duluth, MN, originally) is to link you to her blog: http://www.designerquilts.com/ . Her style of quilting is a unique “echoing” pattern that gives awesome visual and tactile dimension to a quilted/stitched piece. My Challenge piece, “Drifting” utilizes that technique and shows up especially well because of the double layer of batting and the dupioni silk for the top fabric….which has a very lustrous shine/shadow effect. I hope this helps describe the origin of the phrase “McTavishing”. Thanks for stopping by…….let me know if you have any other questions…………hugs……………

  7. I love it….it’s very dreamy if you know what I mean…drifting off through space 🙂 Good luck with the judging!

  8. LB says:

    Truly beautiful, with so much detail, Incredible!

  9. Wow! That is beautiful 🙂 You know, if I look at your quilting enough over the next few years I may convert to a liker/doer of girly things… feathers, curls, etc., in quilting that is beautiful – but does not speak to me to begin doing. Enjoy your day. Smiles…………………..

  10. Debbierose says:

    Doreen this is lovely – great FMQ – I have a greater understanding and appreciation for this as I went to the local Quilt In yesterday and we had Helen Godden speak – as she is Aussie – fantastic – inspiring and you have done yourself proud 🙂

    • treadlemusic says:

      Your comments are always such an encouragement to me! I hope to post the results of the “Challenge” this afternoon. I appreciate your taking the time to comment and hope you stop by again soon!!! Hugs…………………

  11. Beth Ann says:

    What an amazing piece!!! I love that challenge and you certainly rose to it!!! It is beautiful!

  12. nsturgill says:

    Beautiful quilting!

  13. ruthiequilts says:

    This is gorgeous!!! It’s so fun to enter challenge quilts…

  14. This is stunning beauty! I love everything about it from cyan background , applique and my most favorite part McTavishing FMQ. Just awesome!

  15. You’re always up to a challenge, aren’t you? Sure wish I was free this weekend to take in that quilt show and view your personal art in person. Enjoy the gathering and I hope the judging goes well for you.

  16. What a fun and original challenge!
    Esther

  17. catpatches says:

    It’s beautiful!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.