What better day……..

To stitch up a wine tote than New Year’s Eve day??!! Ms Bernina was still in fmq mode and Ms Juki016 was at the ready for all other needed stitching so off I went……….013006014015  The 9/24 is the open toe version of the one that I used on this project  and the one I usually go to (awesome foot!). But, since this was a really small project, I thought I would use the foot that came with the machine! I know……what a crazy thought!!! I spent extra $$$$ to get the 9/24 and I’m using………well, for most fmq, the open toe visibility is beyond comparison but the motif I chose for this tote is the feather-swirl and doesn’t require backtracking or exacting stitching so I knew I could make this one work……and work it did!!!!010I’ve made several different styles of wine totes this year (read here) but wanted to try a different handle style. Off to Walmart to buy……curtain rings!!! Yup, these little thingies……..012   Oh I know….these have been used a lot in the past year or so for various totes and purses (I’ve really/honestly thought they were kinda ugly~~~~), but for something a little different, well……….011 

Nice, don’t you think??008

The last 3 tote photos (above) are just my feathers (done “back-tracking” style) on a previous tote and here is the tote I finished today (with the more relaxed style of feather-swirls)…..018019

I’m not sure what happened on that last photo, but the more-red ‘shot’ is accurate. I curved the top of that one a little (following the pattern suggestion) and I think I like it better.

The thread used is my “go to” metallic…..sews/quilts beautifully on all my machines (Juki, Bernina, Sweet 16)…017The color is #025 Variegated Gold.

Enough of the stitching for today……..

“See” ya next year!!!!!!! And…one more huge thanks for coming along with me on this leg of my quilting adventure. It’s been a “hoot” and I’ve treasured each conversation I’ve been blessed to have with you!!! Hugs………….

 

About treadlemusic

A quilter who rides motorcycle, living on a small hobby farm in southeastern Minnesota. Grandmother and Great Grandmother.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to What better day……..

  1. witchylin says:

    Have a very happy New Year and thank you for all the pictures, ideas and fun from 2014. See you on the other side of midnight in 2015

  2. catpatches says:

    What a fun gift. Love your thread color.

    • treadlemusic says:

      I’m so glad you stopped by!!!! Since DH makes wine for his hobby (doesn’t that match quilting perfectly??!!!!) so the totes will multiply in the next few days…. That thread was something I spotted last Oct. when we were in Maine at a quilt shop. They had a small cone of it, which I bought and loved so much, I immediately went online and ordered 2 of these large cones…….I’ve never regretted it. The thread stitches w/o breaks at fast speed on all my machines. Well worth the $$$$. ‘See’ you in ’15!!!!! Hugs……

  3. mtetar says:

    Now that is unique and right for this time of year. Very Nice. Blessings Always, Mtetar

  4. sharechair says:

    You are SO talented. Was that stitching on the machine as you described… like freehand? Amazing. Just amazing!!!
    Happy New Year to you and yours!!!

    • treadlemusic says:

      Yes. “Hand-guided free motion quilting”. It’s the same stitching I do on my sit-down mid-arm machine (Handi Quilter “Sweet 16” machine). I really can do it on any sewing machine. It’s become somewhat of an obsession/passion (just ask DH!!)..LOL! For me, it’s very relaxing to do. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing this latest project!!
      A very Happy New Year to you, also!!!!!! And I so look forward to your future postings….I’ve learned so much!!! Hugs……

  5. Gloria says:

    Those will make lovely gifts especially with a homemade bottle of wine. Yes, the curved top looks good, says one who could not do what you do!
    Love keeping in touch through your very friendly blog. Happy New Year to you and Tom and all the best in ’15 🌟🌟 🍸🍸 🍺🍺 🎉🎉🎉🎉

  6. KerryCan says:

    Great-looking wine tote! Every detail look fab! Have a wonderful 2015!

  7. The curtain rings look great on your wine tote. Excellent.

  8. ruthiequilts says:

    This is fabulous Doreen! I just love it! The quilting is fabulous as usual!!! Thanks for sharing it with us! XOXO I hope you have a wonderful 2015!

  9. Thread crazy says:

    I’m late joining the party but love the finished wine tote and your relaxed feathers are awesome! I too have enjoyed our conversations – quilting buddies make the best friends!

Leave a Reply

